A Pool of Knowledge

Friday, oh how I have missed you.

Although this week of class was my first, it is the longest one for the rest of the quartile.  4 hours of lecture Tuesday-Friday has slowly bludgeoned me to the ground.  I have never been so happy to simple collapse onto my bed and take a brief nap.  Fortunately, the rest of my semester will cycle between an 8 hour day and a 4 hour day a week and 3 days of 4 hours.

After my introductory period, I have realized that there certainly is such a thing as “too much” knowledge (well. at least crammed in a short period of time).  To where the pool of knowledge feels like I am drowning in it currently. Especially since one of my professors has the terrible habit of giving us 50+ pages to read, then expanding so much upon 10 pages of it in class, 4 hours go by while we are still on page 7.  Needless to say, we are already behind in his two classes.

Aside from that, the other classes are relatively fast-paced and interesting.  The constant class discussions  make the time pass quickly, and it enables me to pull information from a variety of different backgrounds– Not just the lecturer’s.  This helps to solidify the information I am given and root it within a more memorable framework.  Many of  my classmates are incredibly witty and humorous– They have a lot to contribute to the discussion and are interested in constant engagement with each other.  And for the first time in quite awhile, I do not feel like one of the smartest people in the room. It is truly humbling to be surrounded by so many great thinkers and reminds me that, “If you’re the smartest one in the room, you’re in the wrong room”.

I am hopeful that I will be able to keep up though.  While there is a lot of work, it is not an impossible amount to keep up with, and they are laying a ton of groundwork for now as to not loose the engineering and design students who are intermingled in our courses.

Apart from school, I have been cooking in my Crockpot, celebrating the death of ants, and hoping my bank account opens soon.  Oh. And craving a Coffee Shop coffee and Bob Evans. Only 105 more days!

I hope you are all doing well and enjoying the start of your September.

Tot kijk

 

One thought on “A Pool of Knowledge

Leave a Reply

